Day 6: The Perfect Tree

It has been a tradition in my family that we go out into the woods and we cut our own Christmas tree. I guess there are some perks to living in a small rural town surrounded by forest. Plus, I get to make some memories with my dad and the dogs when we go out tree hunting.

IMG_2894

Now, I am very picky when it comes to Christmas trees. I have to find the perfect one, and I don’t care how long it takes. After all, I don’t want to come home with a Charlie Brown tree. Throughout the years, I have found what makes a tree a Christmas Tree.

e0dca726f299a66073cc841481a84f2a

It has to be tall enough, but not too tall, like Buddy the Elf did.

Elf-Buddy-Jumping-On-Christmas-Tree.gif

It also can’t have any empty spaces, and the trunk and branches have to be able to hold up all of the lights and ornaments and angel (or star, or bow, or whatever you put up there). Extra points if the needles are actually kind of soft.

IMG_2883IMG_2887IMG_2881IMG_2885IMG_2886IMG_2883

When you find that perfect tree, cut an extra inch or two off of the bottom, and get it into water fast to make sure it makes it to Christmas. Then get to decorating!

What makes your Christmas tree perfect? And do you cut your own, or visit a lot to get one? I would love to know!

samantha rae creative

Leave a Reply

